Meet-up and then some in keeping it postive

  • Aug. 10, 2015, 8:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am a member of a rather active group - 40 y/o+, mostly singles - we meet for a meal and a movie most weekends.

Granted, the meals are MUCH more expensive than what I’d usually spend, but I enjoy the company and have the discount tickets for the movie…

Yesterday, after I ordered three pairs of eyeglasses (got a new prescription, used old frames) for $300, I took the bus downtown on the west side. I had to walk from 7th Ave. to 1st Ave. LONG walk, but very enjoyable as the weather was lovely.

The restaurant served Turkish food - I had a huge salad with chicken kabob! VERY tasty… oh, and I ate my body weight in bread. YUM.

After lots of conversation, we walked to the movie theater - a couple of blocks away. We got to see Ricki and the Flash. Although it has some soap opera elements, Meryl Streep is excellent (as usual), and her daughter (who plays her daughter) is excellent also. A fun movie! Can a mother abandon her family with three young kids and go follow her dream as a rock musician? We discussed it a bit when the movie was done.


MemoryFails August 11, 2015

Sounds like a lot of fun! I wish I could commit (and actually GO lol) to a group like the one you are in.

Darcy0207 from OD MemoryFails ⋅ August 11, 2015

I understand. This gets me out of the house - often a good thing!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.