W30 day 12 in Whole 30/post w30 eating

  • Jan. 12, 2015, 5:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Breakfast: Burger, half an avocado, half a grapefruit, cauliflower soup

Lunch: 3 eggs, broccoli, half an avocado, and a couple strawberries.

Dinner: leftover chicken and some of this bad boy:
alt text

It’s a variation on this recipe. I didn’t really measure anything, but this is what I used:

3 sweet potatoes
2 large zucchini
1 onion
1 bell pepper (I would’ve used two, but my second one was moldy)

I sauteed everything on the stove before mixing it in my baking dish. It took about 20-25 minutes at 400. I had a longer cooking time because I probably wasn’t patient enough with my sweet potatoes on the stove. I was hungry, man! :p

I’m looking forward to these leftovers. Yum. And the best part is I still have one sweet potato leftover.

Last night I had to take some Aleve. Fail. But my head/neck hurt so much I was crying, so pain killers had to happen. I guess I could try to hunt down some compliant ones, but I think that’ll be a hard find. I should try my feverfew tea, but I’m not sure I can get it down without the honey. We’ll see. The pain is definitely still there, and I’d like to sleep tonight. Boo.


Delilah January 12, 2015

I've been considering doing the Whole 30 plan. Haven't read the book, but browsed the website a bit. In general how do you feel at this point? Do they offer a strategy for re incorporating foods after you finish the 30 days?

magicstar Delilah ⋅ January 13, 2015

I feel pretty good, particularly in regards to binge habits, sugar cravings, and digestive issues. I'm still waiting to feel some of the other benefits, but I have a whole lot of bad to undo so it might just take some more time.

The book definitely talks about reintroduction (I'm not sure I've seen it on the website? Maybe in the blog). They suggest one food group at a time while keeping everything else compliant so you can test your reaction (I think it's broken up into legumes, non-gluten grains, dairy, and gluten grains). I really like that you get all the rational and science behind the plan in the books. I checked it out from the library first and ended up buying it when I was finally ready to do it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.