31 Days of EDS/HSD: Day 15- Childhood & Teen Years in Hypermobile Life

  • May 15, 2023, 10:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am taking part in #MyEDSChallenge and #MyHSDChallenge with the Ehlers Danlos Society. Since May is EDS awareness month, every day I will be sharing something about myself and my EDS journey to drive further awareness and community.

Day 15- Childhood & Teen Years

Like a lot of mini zebras, I was told that my joint pain was just “growing pains” and I would grow out of it. I also started having unexplained bladder pain and other weird pain issues starting around then. I remember asking my mom why I was always so tired. And I had presyncope all the time as well as a few black out episodes here and there when my heart rate got too high.

My skin was very smooth, my teeth were a crooked hot mess and I always had unexplained bruises. Other than those small red flags, I had a pretty normal childhood and adolescence. I played tennis, figure skated, and I continued to wonder why the hell I couldn’t keep up with normal folks. Or why I felt so different. I had no idea the road that lied ahead of me.

I always wonder how different my life would have been if a doctor recognized something in me and educated my parents. I hope someday no child or teen has to go without knowing no matter how mild or severe their symptoms are.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.