Boys Will Be Boys in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • April 16, 2023, 2:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not sure if it’s the arrogance or something else, but by day 3 of my little brother’s visit, I was ready for him to leave… and we still had 2 weeks left to go.

It’s not as if there was anything particularly wrong with him, necessarily, it’s just the whole mindset. I left that all behind on the shores at my back and to have it brought here and proudly displayed is unnerving and humbling in a way that I’m not sure is beneficial to me. As we were doing his tourist-y things, I was genuinely interested in things that he couldn’t care about, mostly because I’m academic and he’s about adrenaline.

The museum about the history of the Chinese immigrants and how they coalesced into a societal force was absolutely fascinating, he couldn’t care less except they had air conditioner.

Then my little brother did something that everyone I’ve told keeps saying, “well, he’s 26, what do you expect?” as if that some how excuses inexcusable behavior. It’s the “boys will be boys” argument in another context, somehow this thing completely trumps any consequences.

I would have never behaved that way, my grandmother taught me better. She taught me manners, how to be polite and be a good travel companion.

But I keep forgetting, she’s dead now and so to must pass all of her ways… This world is fucking doomed.


Sleepy-Eyed John April 16, 2023

What did he do? I'm hoping to travel sometime in the next few years.

KissOfLife! April 19, 2023

I think it's rare to get a good travel companion, but it's interesting that you were the one who was fascinated rather than him.

I'll take a guess at a ping-pong show? lol

Fawkes Gal April 21, 2023

26 is also a whole grown-ass man. I hope it was just something stupid that he did and not something actually harmful.

Meybecker March 29, 2024

Navigating the dating scene can indeed be challenging. As a fan of online dating, I find it a refreshing way to meet new people without the pressure of immediate commitment. For example sophia date stands out as my favorite platform due to its user-friendly interface and diverse user base. I've had my share of dating experiences, some great and others not so much. However, each interaction taught me valuable lessons about myself and what I'm looking for in a partner. Remember, it's essential to stay positive and open-minded in your dating journey. With patience and persistence, you'll eventually find someone who aligns with your values and interests.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.