Police Report Filed in My Landlady Serby is the Bane of my Existence

  • March 12, 2023, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So this happened a few days ago.

Let’s start with the fact that on this particular day I had been awake since 3AM. I had a freaky dream that someone was breaking in and I got out of bed to investigate (in the dream, I got out to investigate) and found Serby the landlady breaking in through my living room window.

Now, if you know Serby’s track record, then you know why my brain was probably thinking this crap up in my sleep. My landlady has gone prowling around looking in my windows after dark for real, in actual reality, which is both creepy and illegal. But she continues to do those things anyway even after THE CITY HAS REPEATEDLY TOLD HER TO STOP because Serby is mentally unstable.

But I digress. I was having a fucked up dream about Serby breaking in. And then my dream started to morph into something else, but it was still connected to Serby somehow, but was now involving a ton of traumatic shit from when I was a kid.

It’s been so long since I’ve had a PTSD dream I can’t even remember how long. Until this one.

I never got back to sleep so I had to function all day operating on a combination of sleep deprivation and also feeling activated as absolute fuck due to PTSD stff, which has not happened to me in foreverrrrrr....

Got home that evening and my phone was almost dead so I threw it on the charger. Went to the bathroom. And it was at that moment that someone was knocking on my door. Seriously?

Anyone who knows me knows to call before coming over. There is only one person who ever shows up unannounced, and that person is Serby. And her case showing up is illegal. And she knows that, but does it anyway.

I went and checked through the peephole, and yes, it was Serby! Of course it fucking was. Now, the city TOLD me to start calling the cops every time the landlady showed up illegally. So I backtracked and retrieved my nearly dead phone off the charger and called the police. Serby knocked once or twice more.

Long story short, she was gone before the cops arrived, so it was anticlimactic. Bummer, I wanted to see her get confronted by police officers. Oh, but I am SURE there will be many more opportunities during the next three and a half months until my lease is up.

I filed a police report anyway for documentation purposes like the city told me too. How much you wanna bet I wind up with a stack of these things between now and July?

So that was last week and I just got this entry about it up. But then! Yesterday while getting my mail I ran into my neighbor Kim, and she had this story.

Supposedly Serby has some sort of a maintenance guy. I had heard someone say that before. I was confused by that and I still am. The reason I’m confused is that Serby does NOT do any maintenance on this building and refuses to fix a damn thing when anyone needs it. So this supposed maintenance man would do what around here, exactly? I’ve never even seen him before. But anyway, I guess this “maintenance guy” exists, and I kinda think he must just be a friend or relative who does Serby’s weird ass bidding for her. This “maintenance” gig does not involve any maintenance work, I can assure you. Pretty sure this dude isn’t even getting paid.

But anyway… Kim says she thinks this guy has been getting into her place when she’s not home. And then one day he showed up at her door and she refused to open it, so “maintenance guy” or whatever got pissed and started threatening Kim through the door and saying crazy shit like, “I’m gonna kill you, bitch!”

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now, Kim is a little bit mentally slow. She has social workers who check on her. I asked her if she called the police when this guy showed up threatening to kill her and she said no. (Face palm.) I think it’s because she’s a little on the slow side that she didn’t call. I told her she really needs to call the cops on this guy (and Serby too) and also talk to her social workers about what happened.

Here is your picture of the day. I decorated my door to look like this.
.


Last updated March 12, 2023


J.E. March 12, 2023

😳

Asenath Waite March 12, 2023

Holy crap. O_o

I hope anyone with a legitimate reason to come to your place unannounced brings something to shield thier face. I'm pretty sure those Mormon clip boards are waterproof.

Your intellectually challenged neighbor, I'm angry for. That maintenance guy is a POS. She needs to find somewhere else to live, too. That's harassment.

Ferret Mom Asenath Waite ⋅ March 12, 2023

She's one of the people moving when her lease is up.

Asenath Waite Ferret Mom ⋅ March 12, 2023

Oh good.
Thank you for that.

Stumble Bee 🐝 March 12, 2023

Wow.
Crazy woman!
Why is she even a landlord?

Deleted user March 12, 2023

This is untenable. Or, perhaps more accurately, untenantable.

Deleted user March 12, 2023

wow another crazy for you to deal with.

music & dogs & wine March 12, 2023

LOVE your signs! Good luck!

Jinn March 15, 2023

I hope you get to move. She is bat shit crazy.

queenofegypt March 15, 2023

Wow, that's a lot of crazy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.