2 AM in Me Being Me

Revised: 03/07/2023 3:41 a.m.

  • March 7, 2023, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I woke up at 2:00 am today and I was thinking about the rent recipts I am still waiting for from Jaunary. I can’t understand why it’s so hard to write out either one recipt for three months or three seperet recepts. How long does it take really? And her excuse is she just hasn’t written them yet. Well I am starting to wonder if I should either go tell her I want them now and no formality of being nice or polite or writing a one word e-mail or waiting till hubby will get them and wait while she is writing them out. I just think it’s unfair that I have to wait so long for something that I am entitled to and is reaquired upon the asking and by law I have to have it.
You know when you pay for something by cash or credit card how you automatically get a receipt to show that you have paid for it and you also have a record of it so you can pay off your credit card or know how much you have spent from your checking account. Well this is the same thing. And the only reason you wouldn’t get one is when you tell the cashier that you don’t want or need the receipt and then it’s on you.
I think it’s always a good idea to have a paper trail just incase some government angency wants to see if you have proof and esppecially to prove that you have paid for it and don’t owe any more money.
I have a question for you? How long do you keep your store receipts and credit card statements for? And your income tax receipts for? My income tax I keep for about 5 years because that is the law and everything else I keep for a year.
Speaking of which I need to go threw my old statements and things and get rid of them. I don’t have a shredder so I need to rip the papers up into small peices.

Onto something else…

I have decided that the meat grinder hubby bought I don’t like because it’s not electric and it’s a slow process to get the quanity I want so I found an electric one on Amazon so it’s in my cart for the next time i want to shop there and I have some money saved up. I am also going to get a shredder and a t-shirt for my brother in law for his birthday. It doesn’t take long for things to add up and then the total makes you ask yourself if you really need all of this. But I think I can get all of this in early April and it shouldn’t put that much of a dent in my bank account.
Here is a question for you? When you buy something and you don’t like how it works or is too small or too big what do you do with it? take it back or regift it? Or just put it in a closet somewhere and let it be that paper weight you never had?

Onto something else…

Well dinner isn’t going to be that great I am thinking either frozen fish or chicken or maybe I will take a roast out of the freezer and we can have that with all the fixings. I think the roast sounds like a brilliant idea and we haven’t had that for a long while.
And other then doing dinner I need to get some laundry done and maybe sweep my bedroom. And do some other domestic work around here.

I need to stop here....
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated March 07, 2023


Anaiss March 07, 2023

When your husband hands her the rent payment he needs to stand there and wait for a receipt right then and there. No receipt -- no rent. End of story. Although she is wrong for not giving you a receipt, its on you (and your husband) for not insisting on one at the time the rent is paid.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ March 07, 2023

I did insit on it and she said she will get it to me. But then I thought of with holding rent till I get the receipt but then she can evict me for non payement of rent....But the next time rent is paid I will be telling (not asking) hubby to wait for the receipts I want..but then if she was smart she would just give one and put Jan, Feb And march and the total I paid.

Anaiss Jodie ⋅ March 07, 2023

No, you need to assert yourself. You have rights too. You hold the rent money in your hand and insist upon a receipt right then, or else you will just hold on to the rent money until she is ready to give you a receipt. You can only be bullied and taken advantage of and pushed around if you allow it!

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ March 07, 2023

But she is one of these who will write up an eviction notice and give that to me instead because I am being too rude to her. She has told me I am very rude especially when I write e-mails and I told her no one else thinks I am rude and she is just full of shit....But yeah when it's rent time this next few weeks I will be demanding my rent receips as I wave my rent check in the air till she gives me my rent receipts.

Anaiss Jodie ⋅ March 07, 2023

Doesn't she have to have grounds to evict you? I mean think about it. Do you really think she wants to evict you? How is she going to find new tenants with the place in the shape it's in? And if she does evict you, is there some kind of agency you have, that you can appeal it to? It seems like she has you so afraid of eviction that she feels like she can get away with anything at all. You said you don't have a cell phone. Does your husband? If you could do a cell phone video of you or your husband attempting to pay the rent and her refusing to give you a receipt, you would be covered.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ March 07, 2023

Leagally she has no grounds but she does tell me it's her house and I have no rights and she can evict me even if I don't break anything all she has to do is tell me her daughter is moving in here and I don't have any other fight left with that. Becauae family always comes first right?

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ March 07, 2023

and what she will do is when I do get evicted she will just fix everything and jack up the rent.

Anaiss Jodie ⋅ March 07, 2023

Well, she's holding you hostage and you are so afraid of being evicted that you are letting her walk all over you. I sort of understand the position you're in but I've always been someone who makes things happen and not let myself be a victim, so it's frustrating for me to see you allowing that to happen to you. But it's your life and your decision and there's nothing more I can say about it.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ March 07, 2023

I know but evry day I don't talk to her or see her is everyday where I become that much stronger...this is going to take time and I am doing well for now.

Anaiss Jodie ⋅ March 07, 2023

Also - why do you pay rent with cash? You could at least pay with money orders. If she insists on you paying rent with cash you need to tell her that you are happy to pay cash but you will need a receipt immediately, or else you have the right to protect yourself by paying with a money order. Don't let her hold the threat of eviction over your head all the time. I know that's easy for me to say but seriously -- she cannot just "evict" you. She has to go through the court. She has to show the court WHY you are being evicted. And the easiest way she can do that is by saying you have not paid rent, and you can't prove that you did.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ March 07, 2023

I only give her cash when she decides to take one of her moronic road trips with her trailer and truck for the winter months because I have a habbit of spending money if I don't take it out, but with checks I have to be really careful and remeber not to spend that money....
And as far as evicting me it would be me who has to show the rental people I am being evicted and get a stop eviction thing so she has to go through the process and that takes time and money and I would have to pay and I can't afford to pay and she won't and she doesn't follow the law.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.