I am enraptured by VR Chat. in The Big, Blue House, year one.

  • Feb. 21, 2023, 2:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hyperfixation is the term. My current line of thinking is that everyone should be using VR. It is awesome, and since the only way to properly appreciate it is to try it, I think everyone should do so. I put on the stupid headset and I just cannot leave it alone until it has to be recharged. I made a couple short recordings to share this cringy joy, but 2D video just cannot do it justice.

I’ve played hundreds of hours of MMOs. Interacted with all kinds of animated creatures and environments. But when it’s right there it’s a whole other thing.

The big blue fish you can see a bit of here are freaking terrifying to me. In 2D they look so innocuous. But in VR they’re four feet tall, big enough to easily eat you, and programmed to path along the walk, creating the illusion that they’re following you.

I thought that classic WoW needed a VR version. But if these friendly looking fish are frightening, I shudder to think how I’d react to a giant slime or one of those Nerubian flying spiders. I was saying, “You just stay waaay over there.”

Incidentally, no, I don’t like playing as an e-girl. But in VR chat it’s either that, a cartoon character, a furry, or a literal animal or inanimate object, like a gecko or a bottle of beer.

Furality Aqua

alt text

I discovered 360 degree VR videos on YouTube. The rollercoasters had me gripping the rug. I didn’t enjoy it. Of course I had Don to try it, and he was as cool as a proverbial cucumber. So I’m just a wimp.

At any rate it’s been great for my mood. It’s a complete distraction from the otherwise ever present existential dread.

~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Don meanwhile has heat pressed the first two tee shirts, and is putting them through the wash repeatedly to make sure they hold up. Tentative yay.


cal February 21, 2023

Sounds interesting.

Did you ever do chat rooms? How long before VR chat is filled with chat bots and overrun like chat rooms were?

Asenath Waite cal ⋅ February 21, 2023

I don't personally think it's likely to be an issue for a while, since in VR Chat you're speaking to people with a microphone, rather than typing, and you're using body language. I only know of one chat bot presently in the game, and it's easily identified as such.

Here's a YouTube video on it: https://youtu.be/g1kbHsSTy4U

cal Asenath Waite ⋅ February 21, 2023

I will check it out. Thank you.

Deleted user February 21, 2023

I've never tried VR it's still too expensive for me lol

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ February 22, 2023

Later this year there are several new headsets coming out, and the Quest 2 will get a lot cheaper. It's $300 new now, so I expect it will drop to $200 or less on Ebay.

Sleepy-Eyed John February 25, 2023

Crazy! I might try that. Do you ever fall over or bump into things?

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 25, 2023

Rarely. I smacked my bedroom ceiling fan light yesterday, trying to make a gecko avatar wave it's stumpy little forelegs.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ February 27, 2023

'Woman decapitated by ceiling fan making crystals in VR' News at 11!

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 28, 2023

That reminds me of this video from 'I did a thing' where he mounts machete blades to a ceiling fan and throws fruit at it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag-909TI-XY

I would not be surprised if he ends up accidentally killing or horribly maiming himself at some point.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ February 28, 2023

I'll have to check it out. People will do anything for clicks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.