One more time. in The Big, Blue House, year one.

  • Feb. 17, 2023, 12:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent the day going though the old inventory, and making tee shirt designs on the tablet. Don spent the day cutting vinyl on the Silhouette, and learning how to get the design even and the blade the right depth.

Tomorrow, he’s practicing with the heat press, while I continue going through the inventory, and working on tee shirt art.

He’s officially been nice enough, long enough, that I’m willing to try this again.

Tomorrow, when I’m not on Benadryl, I’ll have more coherent thoughts on the subject.

I appropriated a statue of Ganesha from the inventory, and put him on his own wall shelf in the office. He’s supposed to be the remover of obstacles, so I figure it can’t hurt. He likes women to cover their heads with a scarf, but with what’s going on in Iran, he’ll just have to cope with getting his offerings from me without one. I don’t have any Indian sweets or flowers, so he’s getting Snickers bars and artificial flowers from Wal-Mart, until I learn to cook Modak and manage to grow some marigolds. I did get two tiny glass bowls with red and yellow in their color schemes, for incense and offerings, respectively. I burned him a couple sticks of India Temple. Wonderful stuff.

He’s sitting on the shelf directly under where the giant print of Jesus was when we moved here. That picture is now in Don’s bedroom closet, wrapped in bubble wrap. I’m reasonably confident that at least one of the former owners died in that room, (the “office” is the ground floor bedroom with an attached bathroom, that has hand rails and an extra large toilet, like someone in a wheelchair might use), and I’m a bit superstitious about throwing out the dead former owner’s religious iconography. But supplanting it with various other deities seems appropriate.

The Benadryl demands that I crash. More forthcoming.


Sleepy-Eyed John February 25, 2023

I'm not really spiritual, but I like some of the ideas.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 25, 2023

I'm not either. I was, twenty years ago. I stay with it for the principle, to fight conservativism and American christian fundamentalism in some small way.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ February 27, 2023

Ya, that's fair. I think there's value in spirtuality, but I generally can't be assed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.