Why I haven't been here in The Big, Blue House, year one.

  • Jan. 24, 2023, 3:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well my computer is on the 3rd floor. And my bedroom is on the 2nd floor. And I haven’t been playing Guild Wars 2 in a couple weeks, which had been my primary purpose for coming up here. So yeah.

In the rest of the house I use my tablet, which is great, but not so easy for typing on at length.

Menopause is kicking my ass. Migraines blow.

And I’m trying to dedicate more time to art, which is hard when you’re rarely wide awake because of lack of sleep or brain fog when you’re conscious. So I spend altogether too much time browsing Reddit and annoying people, or watching disaster documentaries with Don.

The days bleed together in a haze of lost time as I slip inexorably closer to death. Or that’s what it feels like. I have less and less time left to accomplish anything, and less and less ability to do anything with the time that I have.

I keep telling myself that’s not so, that I can work despite being foggy and sore and groggy, but everything takes longer when you’re not really awake, and simple housework and morning coffee has been taking three hours. Then I watch dumb videos with Don for two hours. Then I work on my art as best I can for an hour. Then I take a nap for an hour and half. Then I cook something and eat, and that takes an hour, peeling my potatoes or cutting my eggplant or whatever. Then I do some online shopping for a couple hours. Then it’s time to give the cats their second meal, then it’s time for bed.

I hate it more than my limited ability to articulate can easy convey.

Thank you so much to anyone who manages to read this. At this point your patience deserves a congressional medal.


Mr. Mofo January 24, 2023

The days bleed together in a haze of lost time as I slip inexorably closer to death. Or that’s what it feels like. I have less and less time left to accomplish anything, and less and less ability to do anything with the time that I have. <-----Lady, you just told the story of my fuggin life.

Asenath Waite Mr. Mofo ⋅ January 24, 2023

I greatly appreciate the validation, and I sympathize.

Sleepy-Eyed John January 24, 2023

^ditto.

What disaster documentaries?

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 24, 2023

Just assorted Youtube videos. He prefers plane crashes, I like caving and cave diving tragedies.

If you're unfamiliar, I recommend looking into the Nutty Putty Cave tragedy. Real campfire horror story material.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ January 24, 2023

Okay fair. I'm kinda lazy now with the follow-through. Don't really care. but I'll make a note of it.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 24, 2023

Cool cool. In an effort to save you the trouble of having to come back to it:
Dude basically crammed himself upside down in a tunnel so narrow he couldn't move, and at such an angle that even with pulleys and winches they couldn't pull him out. The pulley they mounted in the rock pulled loose and injured a rescuer pretty badly. His wife and his brother cried and prayed with him over a microphone while he slowly died. There are pictures of his feet/shoes on the internet. They just sealed up the cave, and put a plaque over the entrance.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ January 24, 2023

Haha oh gawd!

Jesus saves... but not this time!

How do think you'll die?

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 24, 2023

Either a heart attack or asphyxiation. If the former doesn't take me first, I'll eventually develop cancer, and having seen that first hand, I'll take the Robin Williams way out instead.

You?

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ January 24, 2023

Why asphyxiation?

Heart attack, cancer, or violent crime.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.