Let Me Explain... in Help Me Please

Revised: 01/18/2023 8:28 a.m.

  • Jan. 18, 2023, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I would like to thank you all for your wisdom for the issues I am trying to figure out and so far I am doing much better.
But the thing about moving is that I need to wait till I am 65 so I can get something called S.A.F.E.R. ( What is the Safer Program in BC?
The Shelter Aid for Elderly Renters (SAFER) program helps make rents affordable for BC seniors with low to moderate incomes. SAFER provides monthly cash payments to subsidize rents for eligible BC residents who are age 60 or over. Existing clients need to reapply each year.) then I can qualify for reduced rent. There is no sense moving from here because the rent will be much higher and I can’t afford anymore then what I am paying. I am already paying $150.00 more thean I can really afford. And so far I don’t have heat and electricity to pay so my rent has stayed the same. The thing I don’t get is why this landlady thinks giving me a break on the rent and not raising it will be doing me a favour? Well it doesn’t because things don’t get fixed and the heat tempature will never be what I want it at. But it is what it is and I just have to find other ways to keep me toasty warm. So far I think I have spent another $200.00 just to keep warm and I think if the heat was at a tempature I like the cost would be much cheaper but then I don’t know how they figure out the gas consumption. But now I am happier and a bit warmer in the mornings when I wake up so it all worked out for the better for me.
My mom suggested that the landlay and I could work together and get things fixed like I call the people in to get estimates and she pays for the work to be done and I think I could manage that. Like for the guy to come and look at the crak in the laundry room cement would cost about $500.00 to seal up. And for the guy to come out and give an estimate for the mold would cost $150.00 and I would get a price on how much it would cost to fix it for good. I just hope that the gound in the laundry room doesn’t sink anymore because then that would cost about $1500.00. I wish I had the money to get these things fixed so I can be happy and know that things are suppose to be the way they are. Usually when something starts not working right I right away repalce it because I know it will get worse and something more could happen.

Onto something else…

Dinner last night was chicken and I made this…

https://www.wholesomeyum.com/crispy-baked-chicken-legs-drumsticks-recipe/
I really liked it and I will be doing this again. And there isn’t much of a mess to clean up after.
Dinner tonight I am thinking frozen fish and French Fries and carotts.

Onto something else…

I was looking at the laundry and it needs to be done so I will be doing it today and I will also be sweeping and the other domestic work I need to do.

Well I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated January 18, 2023


Anaiss January 18, 2023

I'm sorry for being so hard on you. I admit I am out of touch with what it is like to be low income. I still believe in doing everything we can to change things for the better whenever we can. When will you turn 65?

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ January 18, 2023

in 6 years....But if I can get the rent help before that I will be using it here.
I hate to admit it but I often think that the USA is similar to canada like with the government medicle care and for the wealfare system but I am learning that it's very different and there are way more hoops to jump through to get what you need.
Keep reading me and you will find out what all kinds of cool things about the way of life here...

theKat January 18, 2023

my mother's neighbor is a renter. they are 70 and will have to rent until they die. their rent is 2000 a month and pay electric and water too. sadly they do not make enough on SS for both to pay all their bills... one of them will probably always have to work.

Jodie theKat ⋅ January 18, 2023

ouch...I do know there are people like that here and it's really sad that they can't have fun and grow old.

toddslife January 18, 2023

glad your doing much better.

Jodie toddslife ⋅ January 18, 2023

It took a while but I am improving every day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.