Survey, because I ought to make an entry. in The Big, Blue House, year one.

  • Nov. 12, 2022, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

But the Benadryl I’m on for a sinus infection makes thinking of a topic difficult.

1.) What were you doing at 11 last night?
Watching “Shrouded Hand” on YouTube, and vegetating on antihistamines.

2.) Do you think you and your best friend will be friends in 10 years?
That would be Don. Assuming we’re both alive, of course we will. We’re intractably interdependent.

3.) What could you eat any day of the week and never get tired of?
Amy’s Indian Paneer.

4.) What’s the craziest thing you’ve done?
I can’t answer this honestly, because I don’t know what the statute of limitations is.
The fourth or fifth craziest thing might be the time we set some mummified roadkill on fire, in a failed experiment to start the maceration process.

5.) Someone knocks on your window at 5am, what do you say?
“Come right in, Mr. Vampire, as I assume you must be, since I sleep on the second floor.”

6.) Funniest thing that happened in the last 24 hours?
An overweight cat attempted to get comfortable in a desk drawer, and Fed Ex delivered a curtain rod in a box big enough for a small television.

7.) Do you have any plans for the weekend?
Hopefully I can convince myself to paint a few hours, and maybe watch a few movies with Don.

8.) Would you change yourself for the person you love?
We’ve been together for twenty six years. We’ve both already changed, in numerous small ways, to accommodate each other.

9.) Let me guess, your last incoming call was from the opposite sex?
It was from a caseworker, who is also female. So no.

10.) Would you kiss anyone you have texts from in your phone?
I’m not kissing the Wal-Mart delivery automated text algorithm. I’m not even sure it’s possible.

11.) Do you find drinking unattractive?
No. I find alcoholism, and the preternatural aging, and premature death unattractive.

12.) When was the last time something bothered you?
This sinus infection is extremely bothersome.

13.) Do you know how to work a computer well?
Who doesn’t, aside from nursing home residents?

14.) To whom did you last give the finger to?
Probably my next-to-last employer. She was morbidly obese, and somewhat intellectually challenged. Here’s hoping one or the other of those impairments has caused her some suffering since last we met.

15.) Is it more common for you to follow your heart or your mind?
My “heart” proved itself untrustworthy, and extremely stupid long ago.

16.) Do you like to hold hands?
Human hands tend to be sticky.

17.) Anything embarrassing happen today?
It’s hard to be embarrassed when you never leave the house.

18.) Would you ever go on a game show if you were offered?
Free stuff is almost always good, right?

19.) What does your phone do when it receives a new text?
It’s set to vibrate only, since no one texts me.

20.) Has anyone ever done mean things to you while you were sleeping?
My ex husband once slipped me valium to knock me out.

21.) Do you have someone of the opposite sex you can tell everything to?
After two and half decades, I would hope so.

22.) Would you rather be at the beach or lake?
Why do people like large bodies of water? Can’t I go to a nice forest, instead?

23.) Last thing you spent money on?
A curtain for the kitchen.

24.) What are you doing after this?
Rearranging the dishes. Since we have a dish washer, I don’t think “doing” the dishes is quite accurate.

25.) Your song of the week?
If I must pick, Ghost, “Little Sunshine”.

26.) Have you ever cried from being so mad?
No? I’ve put holes in walls, though.

27.) Are you happy with the choices you’ve made?
About 65%.

28.) I bet you miss someone, huh?
Sometimes I miss my father, then I remember his less nice aspects.

29.) Would you rather be forced to eat 100 bananas or 100 apples?
Logically, the bananas would be less likely to hospitalize you.

30.) Have you dated the person you texted last?
We were dating in 1996. So yes, but it was a very long time ago.

31.) Is good grammar attractive?
Grammar is indicative of intelligence. Intellect is attractive.

32.) Are you friends with the people you were friends with two years ago?
As far as I know?

33.) Is there anyone you know with the name Mike?
There are three.

34.) What is today’s date?
It’s a the top of the page.

35.) Who was the last person to call you baby?
My ex husband, I think.

36.) Has anyone ever sang to you?
I had a boyfriend who sang at me.

37.) What is your favorite color?
Black. Followed by a deep plum, and moss green.

38.) What color are your eyes?
Hazel.

39.) How tall are you?
5’ 4”

40.) What do you have planned for tonight?
GW2, and baked pumpkin.

41.) If you could have one wish right now what would it be?
Reduce the human population to only ten thousand, and only the very most intelligent of the species. Yes, I realize I’d cease to exist.

42.) When is your birthday?
It falls on Thanksgiving every seven years.

43.) Who is the 9th contact in your phone?
There are only six contacts on my phone.

44.) Ever liked someone who treated you like crap?
I can only pick one?

45.) If you could spend more time with someone you used to be very close with, would you?
If they spent more time with me, they might want lose contact altogether.

46.) Could you go a day without eating?
Can I drink Boost?

47.) Did your parents force you to go to church or let you make the decision?
They fought about it, so some of each.

48.) What are you excited for?
The Winter Solstice.

49.) Did anyone see you kiss that last person you kissed?
Unless there’s someone hiding in our house, no.

50.) Do you still talk to the person you last kissed?
It would be kind of weird if I didn’t at this point.

51.) Would you date an 18 year old at the age you are now?
Only for a large sum of money.

52.) What are you listening to now?
Time Team, on the living room T.V.

53.) What woke you up today?
I just finished sleeping?

54.) Would you take someone back if they cheated on you?
When I was eighteen I did, but the human brain isn’t quite finished developing at that point.

55.) Have you ever dyed your hair?
Every six months. Clairol blue black.

56.) Who was the last person you have a missed call from?
Nobody calls me in the first place.

57.) Where was your default picture taken?
It’s a mini painting I made several years ago in Toledo.

58.) How many windows are open on your computer?
Just the one at the moment. And they’re usually referred to as “tabs”.

59.) Anything you really want?
Better time management skills!

60.) How many pillows do you sleep with?
Zero. Zilch. Zip. Squat. Nada.
I used to, before the spinal fusion. Now I can’t stand them.

61.) Can you have more than one best friend?
Theoretically?

62.) What was last thing you drank?
Decaffeinated instant coffee.

63.) How many pets do you have?
They’re not “pets”. They’re furry little household members, who get by without contributing anything through manipulation, because they’re cute.

64.) What do you like better: hot chocolate or hot apple cider?
I’ve never seen the latter and pray I never do.

65.) Who last texted you?
Wal-Mart.

66.) Who did you last text?
Don.

67.) Do you know anyone who is pregnant?
Not that I’m aware.

68.) Where were you born?
Tampa, Florida.

69.) What do you want right now?
This sinus infection to go away. All of my friends to be comfortable, and well. And a winning lottery ticket, which is unlikely, since I never play, because the odds of getting struck by lightning are better.

Mostly the second one. I follow two people here who are not very happy right now, and it bothers me greatly. I’m terrible at emotional support. I can joke about getting revenge on your enemies, or buy you a drink, but that’s so rarely what people need.


Last updated November 12, 2022


Sleepy-Eyed John November 25, 2022

spinal fusion?

What was your Dad like?

I just discovered Ghost. They're pretty good.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ November 26, 2022

When I was in 8th grade, a routine health inspection caught my scoliosis. My parents took me to the nearest Shriner's Hospital every 6 months for two years, checking on the progression of the curvature. When I was 16 they were told that I could either wear a brace for the rest of my life, or that I could have a spinal fusion. They went with the surgery. Long story short: Two metal rods, pulverized bone from my pelvis, and a body cast for six months. They took the rods out when I was 18. The experience wasn't pleasant, but the hospital was new, and very pretty, with skylights, and large aquariums, and a play area with arcade games, and several charitable organizations brought us presents, so it wasn't all bad. I also got to see a lot of interesting medical conditions with the other patients.

My father modeled himself after western movie protagonists. He had a violent temper, but he was known in our family as someone who would help financially, or provide housing and transportation. He never hit us, aside my few spankings for trivial and unjustified things, but he went to bars after work and intentionally started fights so he could beat up strangers. This was in the 50s-70s, before they jailed people for assault over black eyes.

In retrospect, I think he had a lot of autistic traits, and his bar fights weren't that different from how I would PVP after work.

Think of Fred Flintstone, or Jackie Gleason, or Archie Bunker. He was a lot like them. He wasn't a "bad" guy, but he was domineering, and demanding, and mean. On the other hand, he also always apologized to me and my mother after he'd threaten us, and once when he broke a lamp drunk, he gave us each $300 the next morning. lol

Overall, I'd give him 4.5 out of 5 stars. lol

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ November 28, 2022

Hmmmmm. My Mom's ex went to bars to "practice" but he hurt people.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ November 26, 2022 (edited November 26, 2022)

Edited

I do dig Ghost. I love the constant Satanic theme, and the music is reminiscent of 80s-90s metal.

I saw them when they were in Toledo. They do a great live show.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ November 26, 2022

Hmmmmm. Nice!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.