Assorted anxieties about The Male. in The Big, Blue House, year one.

  • Oct. 23, 2022, 12:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me state that I’ve referred to him as The Male since long before Prosebox. It’s not an insult, just the the best title I could come up with for someone I’ve lived with for decades without marrying. My mother used to call him my “shack up”.

Don continues to be sugary sweet. He was agitated the day before yesterday, when I asked him to bring in the pickets that had been delivered from Home Depot, and he stormed past me and slammed the kitchen door on his way out to get them. Then yesterday he came upstairs and apologized, and listened to me vent about it, while he fiddled with the fabric I’ve got hanging on my easel. (It’s to cover paintings when I’m not working on them, from house flies and airborne cat hair.) He was reticent. I am amazed.

He may also be starting to decline a bit mentally. That is NOT an easy thing to type, it’s F*CKING terrifying, but it’s true. Three times in the last six months I’ve gone into the kitchen and smelled gas, and found he’d tried turning a burner off in the wrong direction, so instead of being off, it was on REAAALLY low. (So I turned it off, of course.)

With menopause my periods make my arthritis fifty times worse, so several days out of the month I’m just kind of moping around. So bless his heart, he did the dishes yesterday. And the big cook pot is not clean. It’s MOSTLY clean. It looks clean. But picking it up to put it away, I felt the almost invisible dried on crusty stuff, and had to re-wash it.

When I met his mother, (I only talked to her twice), she came across as a flake. And I say this as someone infamous for being flaky. If I believed in any gods I’d be asking them not to let that happen to Don. - I mean, unless it comes with him being a nicer person. I’ll take personality improvements however I can get them.

But she eventually developed Parkinson’s, so no, not worth it. Not to self: Get Don to take 400 mg of Qnol a day. I read a study that it can forestall the worst stages of Parkinson’s and possibly prevent dementia from it. Well in mice it can. He does have some rodent-like tendencies to accumulate trash. (Har har trying to have a laugh in the face of my fears.)

On the other hand, he’s known for ten months that he needs cataract surgery. He’s putting it off, because who wants a scalpel in their eyeballs, right? FINGERS VERY SERIOUSLY CROSSED that that’s his problem.


Deleted user October 23, 2022

I need cataract surgery too. Known for the past couple years. When the docs told me about it I freaked and they laughed. Seems a routine surgery these days. Dementia and any loss of mind is terrifying. SUGGEST getting gas detector device. I have a hand held one battery operated. I have researched the shit out of cataract surgery. It is good that Don is such a kind good man. Our egos trip us up at times. I have wondered how I would be if I lived with a woman. Probably better now than in the past. Don sounds like a good dude. I feel for him and for you both. Group hug! :-)

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ October 23, 2022

I wouldn't want the surgery either. I told Don if it happened to me I'd probably just resign myself to being blind. lol

Very helpful advice! It hadn't even occurred to me that there are gas detectors. I'll get one and plug it in by the stove.

The previous owners loved electrical outlets. They're everywhere. Might as well put them to good use. Thank you so much!

Deleted user Asenath Waite ⋅ October 23, 2022

I have a small handheld one. About the size of my hand. You can take it anywhere in the house that way.

Sleepy-Eyed John October 23, 2022

Learning another language also helps with those diseases. Can you buy you a few years even if you don't become fluent.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ October 23, 2022

I've tried to learn Klingon a few times, but I always get bored with it. I could pick it back up, and try to get him involved. Then if he ever does lose his wits, he can insult his nurses properly.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ October 23, 2022

haha. that works!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.