I Can't believe Her in Help Me Please

Revised: 09/25/2022 5:36 a.m.

  • Sept. 25, 2022, midnight
  • |
  • Public

My land lady insists once you see things that you can trip over the first time that if you trip it’s your fault and she is not responsible for that. But the thing I worry about is if it’s dark out and you trip over something she hasn’t cleaned up like wood she is still not responsible because you have seen it before the dark.
And the smell in my bathroom vanity now smells like musty air and pine sol and it seems to be getting worse and not better and there is still black around the edges of the board that is warped. So there is nothing in that cupboard and I won’t be using it till it gets fixed.
The land lady has complained that I don’t sweep up the grass that is on my sidewalk after I have cut the lawn and don’t get me wrong I do sweep it but not all of it. But now I am not going to be mowing the lawn or sweeping my sidewalks leading to my home. I figure people can’t hurt themselves and they can see where the grass bits are. And besides I have never signed a lease when I moved in here so I figure that what the other tenets did I shouldn’t have to and I have never been told by the landlady that I need to mow the grass. If she wants the grass, or should I say the weeds then she needs to make it look like grass and not weeds. And I don’t have the money to get someone here to do it for me although I would like to. But I figure I don’t use any the grass and there is not even a garden or space for a garden. Not that I would ever use it anyways.
I will be moving I am just not sure when and I am going to look into seniors living because I think the rent is based on your income and hopefully hubby and I can still be roommates. Our relationship is very complicated and for a very good reason.

Onto something else…

Dinner last night was steak and boiled potatoes and canned green beans and was really good. And tonight I am not sure what we will have but maybe my famous shrimp and pasta dish that I make.
As for the rest of the day not much…Just going to do not much and maybe talk to hubby but nothing more.

I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated September 25, 2022


Anaiss September 25, 2022

There's a lot of detail here that most of us don't know. I didn't know you have no lease. Without a lease, yes, she can "evict" you whenever she wants, she just has to give you notice. Also without a lease she's not obligated to do much, but neither are you. If I were you I'd start looking into options for moving to another place, immediately. You might be surprised what you can do, and it would relieve a lot of stress for you to be out from under her.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ September 25, 2022

There was a lease signed but it was hubby's brother and mother who signed it but since she died and the brother moved in with his girl friend it's me an hubby...we took over the place and signed nothing but evidently it's a take over because it is family which shouldn't make a difference to me.

Anaiss Jodie ⋅ September 25, 2022

I think it does matter. She allowed you to move in but if she didn't update the lease or paperwork then I doubt very much that you are under any lease or contract. This is something it should be easy for you to find out about, and you have a right to know.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ September 25, 2022

I keep telling her I want to sign a new lease but she is too lazy to do the paper work and give it to the government and plus then I would have a list of what I am suppose to do like cut the grass.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ September 25, 2022

I keep telling her I want to sign a new lease but she is too lazy to do the paper work and give it to the government and plus then I would have a list of what I am suppose to do like cut the grass.

Anaiss Jodie ⋅ September 25, 2022

Well, if I were you I'd be moving as soon as I could. You seem to feel like a victim and at this point I don't think I blame you. But you have to be responsible for your own situation and if it's not working, it's up to you to change it.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ September 25, 2022

Trust me I will but it will take a bit before I find something I can afford and like.

theKat September 25, 2022

such a hard way to live. Renters have to jump hoops but I guess it is easier than owning a place and doing all the work.
She is also wrong... if anyone trips over her mess day or night and even if they know it is there... she will be responsible. ... if anyone trips on an acorn or a leaf on her property it is still her fault. if anyone gets hurt on your property you are responsible maybe if the person is acting foolish like doing flips you might find a loop hole? that is why we carry a million dollar insurance on accidents for our home

Jodie theKat ⋅ September 25, 2022

Most people do but I don't think she does. It's like when I have car insurance I have the most comprehensive insurance I can get because if I should kill someone then at least I can pay them. But I will be telling her that I am cleaning up her mess and now there is a cracked stone piece where I live and it's cracked in half and I am worried I will or someone else will hurt themselves.

toddslife September 25, 2022

go to landlord and tent bored there fault you are right

Jodie toddslife ⋅ September 25, 2022

Well that will be the very last resort....because when I do and I will be right in my complaint she will evict me so I need to have all of my bases covered and be protected.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.