Bills Are Paid in Help Me Please

Revised: 08/24/2022 8:54 a.m.

  • Aug. 24, 2022, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just wish things were cheaper like when my parents were my age and younger. My mom told me that when we first moved to B.C. we lived in a place called Kerridale and it’s a pretty expensive area for living. My parents paid like $400.00 a month for a two bedroom apartment. Maybe it was three bedrooms because my brother was a baby then and I was about 2. But then this was in the middle 60’s so everything seemed cheaper then. Now you are lucky if you can find something to live in for $500.00 a month and if you can that is dirt cheap.
But the good thing is that I can live here for at least another month so that is a good thing. The only thing left to do is go grocery shopping and get some decent fruit and vegetables and some odds and ends. And I will be getting a very much needed hair cut and then get my glasses done so I can see better. And then on Sunday my son should be here for breakfast so that will be good to see him.
Last night I made chicken for dinner. Nothing too fancy and there is some left overs so hubby will have that on Friday. And I am not sure what to have tonight because it’s suppose to be yet another heat wave so I will ask hubby. But I do have some left over spaghetti sauce so all I will need to do is make fresh pasta. But then I will still ask hubby if he thinks he wants that or not.
Here is a question for you? Do you ask your family what they might want to eat for dinner? This is not a thing if you live alone but still coming up with good ideas is sometimes hard especially if you don’t have much and your cooking skills are limited. Here is another question for you? When you are looking in the fridge and trying to decide what to eat how long is the fridge door open before you make up your mind? I usually know what I want so I just look for it. Sometimes I have to look twice because I often move things and forget where I put them.

Onto something else…

Today I need to do some laundry just so I have enough shirts and underwear. I don’t have to do all the laundry but I need to do at least two loads maybe three. And I think the dishwasher will have to go on and maybe I will surprise myself and change the sheets on the beds and have a shower but not in that order.

Onto something else…

Well I think I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated August 24, 2022


Anaiss August 24, 2022

Yes things were cheaper then but income was less too. Still, poor is poor no matter what decade it is. You can find places to rent for $500 a month?? That's insane! Around here you can't rent the worst, most broken down one room place for anywhere near that.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ August 24, 2022

we have something called SOR (single Occupancy Rooms) for $600.00 and that is suppose to be for the welfare people. And my son is paying $600.00 a month for one bedroom and a shared small house.

theKat August 24, 2022

people made a lot less back then! my parents had one car and owned a small 1000 sq ft home. where as we own 2 cars with around a 5000 sq ft home. people are doing far better now I think

Jodie theKat ⋅ August 24, 2022

I think the norm for now a days is each kid has a car and often share their parents everything else...

theKat Jodie ⋅ August 24, 2022

tv in every room, everyone has cell phones, 100 dollar jeans, and large homes

Jodie theKat ⋅ August 25, 2022

that is what I know and have seen...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.