29/12/2021 My own diary. in Thoughts

  • Dec. 29, 2021, 3:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I decided to start keeping my own personal diary. One that I can look back over over the next 12 months as I’m doing my weekly recap for on here.

I decided that there is a little format that I want to it that I’m going to try and do for every entry. Besides the writing of my day and thoughts and how I’m feeling. There are also 4 points I will be sticking too and they are as below.

1: Just because I may not have done anything significant that day, doesn’t mean I wont be able to write something down.

Today for example I didn’t do much at all besides work. But when you reflect on your thoughts for the day I ended up writing 1000 words easily. I twas a nice weight off my shoulders I didnt realise I had or needed to do.

2: Where possible each day either try to find a quote that resonates with me or a word of the day that I have not heard before.

Todays was Engentado. For those that haven’t heard it before here is the description below. I thought it was very relatable to not just myself but probably a lot of people and the current time.

Engentado | That feeling when you’ve been around a lot of people and now, you just need to be alone. Put in simple terms, engentado means being “peopled-out”. If you’re an introvert, you probably feel this one deep into your bones!

3: Try to find one new piece of music from a genre that you wouldn’t normally listen to, that you end up liking.

This is obviously a tough one and may take many songs before something ticks the right box. Today’s song was the below, a very beautiful piano piece that I wouldn’t normally listen to. But can simply enjoy for 2 reasons. It’s simply wonderful and relaxing and secondly I can appreciate anyone that has musical skill, having learnt drums myself when I was younger and knowing how difficult that was.

The song is by a Japanese pianist called Nobuyuki Tsujii. And the resulting song ended up with me listening to the whole album. The song in question is track 1 of disk two.

https://open.spotify.com/track/4j1HelBSVmUWE5kLXBne0j?si=846b27faa36f421c

An even more outstanding point to this is he was also born blind. So being able to play the above is even more incredible.

4: To answer a really thought provoking question from a random question generator.

Todays was: Should euthanasia be legal? Why or why not.

My answer was my own, but it really did make me think deeply about it and from so many different views that I don’t think I would have normally. I kept going back and forth between yes and no. And to be honest I don’t think there is a wrong answer depending on an individual’s‘ circumstance at that moment in time. Ultimately I went with yes. Because more than anything would I rather this than someone commit suicide. Yes this wouldn’t stop suicide from happening, but suicide can cause trauma to many people and not just the individual and most likely without answers as to why they have done it.

My thought process was that someone may not want to say why they want to be euthanised but they have taken the appropriate thoughts and steps to get to where they are and ultimately have decided to go ahead with it anyway, in a setting that I would hope is more appropriate and set up for this instance. I suppose it also came down to my own personal preference. I haven’t thought about suicide before but if you put both options in each hand I don’t think I could go a gruesome way knowing someone else would have to find me. Id much rather be in a bed hopefully going to sleep peacefully if it came to that kind of decision.

I have really enjoyed doing my diary the last couple of days since I started and I can feel it already helps getting my thoughts out my head at the end of the day.

I just thought I would share the above if anyone else was thinking of ever deciding they wanted to write a Diary and have a little format to it.


Last updated December 30, 2021


Chocolatechip December 29, 2021

Sometimes, in addition to having a virtual journal, it feels good to write things down on paper.

Mythoughtsinwords Chocolatechip ⋅ December 29, 2021

Pen to paper always feels a lot nicer than typing on a keyboard. Shame though as my handwriting is awful and very illegible. So I went with a digital diary on my Ipad which also allowed to write it peacefully with some nice music. :).

Chocolatechip Mythoughtsinwords ⋅ December 29, 2021

That is a good idea.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.