Cross and the pea…. important part of my life! in Hi This is Kat!

  • Nov. 29, 2021, 4:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My grandma B was a clean freak and a regions fanatic…. she would talk about how many hours she spent cleaning…. she was the one who put clear plastic seat covers on her living room furniture and plastic hall runners…. she looked at us kids as germy dirty mess makers. she never liked me and was none to shy to let it be known… after all I was always going to hell for something… be it doing flips and cartwheels in the front yard in front of boys when I was 7 with shorts and tucked in shirt, to climbing trees or even talking to a boy…she would always yell at me (not the other kids) I made all the messes and was the one who made all the loud noises…. so I grew to not like her!

She could not yell at my cousins because my aunt would never bring the kids back k over and my sister looked too much like her so she was hhher favorite… my brother was just a baby so I got all the heat

Every Christmas and Thanksgiving the kids ate in the living room and the adults and my baby brother ate in the kitchen…. one year I had enough of her but I was just kid and I could never talk back to an adult so… I secretly placed a pea on the cross in the living on Jesus’s shoulder… I guess to prove to myself she was not that clean???? The next time we would visit I would sneak up on the chair and look and the pea was still there… I was probably in the 4th or 5th grade???

Finally after a few years I let my siblings and cousins know about the pea on the cross… by that time it was shriveled to almost nothing and I put another pea in its place…. It because a huge funny within the cousins circle and will dared not tell any adult but we would always look for the pea and replace it when it was almost gone…

We still laugh at about this long after our family get togethers ended once grandma got put in a nursing home…

at 16 I got my long hair cut short…. I was only only girl in the family who EVER had long hair my sister and two cousins always had short hair… and she told me a woman’s hair was God’s glory and yep… I was going to hell for cutting my hair!

When I was 29 I went to visit my Grandma (boom boom) is what we called her. I told her my husband was cheating on me and I was getting a divorce… and for the last time she told me I was going to hell for getting a divorce! She had a stroke later that year and was then put in a nursing home and I was an adult and I only went to see her twice in the ten years she was year…. When she died I refused my inheritance I was never going to take money from someone so mean to mean… It was only 100,000 because my sister and brother got half of her estate because my father passed before she did.


Jodie November 29, 2021

you would think with all those kids running around your grandmas place that it would be all of you making the messes and the noise. What did your mom ever do? Or was she not there? And why did you keep going back if you disliked her that much? because of the peas?

theKat Jodie ⋅ November 29, 2021

this all happened when I was a smaller child like 4 to 12 so I had no choice but go.... mom did tell her to stop but she would still say mean this when not one was around.... once I was 21 I did not visit her much maybe once a year

Jodie theKat ⋅ November 29, 2021

I am sorry you had to go through all of that...is kids have enough to deal with especially the bullies at school.....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.