The Molly Ringwald Moment in The Song Remembers When

  • Oct. 5, 2021, 9:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In August I wrote about songs that connected me to my emotions, but there’s an even deeper level than that. It’s the level that makes you dance. I’m very self-conscious about my body and I rarely dance. I am always under control, which is probably why I’m a bad dancer, you have to have a freedom with your body that I’ve never been able to possess.

Very few songs actually get me to dance with total abandon and those sings usually bring up even stronger, more primal emotions than the previous list because they may link me to specific moments, but I’m not stuck there… they just propel my body into movement and hurl every thought out of my head.

Just last month, a new song came out which happened to bring that out of me. It’s quite a rare feat because you’ll notice most of these songs have something in common. And most of them are somewhat obscure for Americans. I call these songs my Molly Ringwald moment because I start dancing like she did on the stairs in The Breakfast Club.


I first heard this song when I was a kid a lot. It was only popular in California, but it was everywhere. When I heard it again in my late 20s, it was like I found an old friend. It totally changed the direction of my day and I even called out of work.


I saw Dannii Minogue play in America for the first time at Gay Day in like 2006 (She called Kylie from the stage who was going through chemo at the time) and she did this. Into the Groove can also get me into this moment, but because I hear it so often, I have a hard time connecting with it all the time. But this song always made it happen… I was at a straight bar here in Thailand and they randomly played this. An embarrassing evening ensued.


This is the new song. I can’t listen to it if I have things to do because I won’t get anything done.


Last updated October 10, 2021


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.