My EDS Challenge Day 5- Schools/Teachers in Hypermobile Life

  • May 5, 2021, 10:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am taking part in #MyEDSChallenge and #MyHSDChallenge with the Ehlers Danlos Society. Since May is EDS awareness month, every day I will be sharing something about myself and my EDS journey to drive further awareness and community.

Day 5 of the challenge: School/Teachers

I consider myself one of the “fortunate” ones when it came to school and teachers. I did not need any accomodations, other than very minor ones. During my teen and college years, I was dealing with chronic fatigue, occasional joint pain and pelvic pain episodes after going to the bathroom still. But it did not prevent me from participating in class in any way. The exception being physical education. I was always very slow with running and getting yelled at by gym teachers. I played Tennis in high school and was always mysteriously injuring myself in minor ways. I bruised very easily. My muscle soreness seemed over the top after seemingly normal physical activities but I was expected to go on with the pain. Sometimes, I would have to leave the classroom due to fainting. I would always tell teachers ahead of time and they never really gave me any problems as long as i completed the work.

I graduated with a bachelors degree in zoology and a minor in botany in May of 2011, from Western IL University. I never ended up doing anything with my degree, but i enjoyed studying biology.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.