Days Like This in And So It Goes

  • April 30, 2021, 9:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  • The whole Key West thing turned into a fiasco. I decided to cancel the Key West Express and not even go.
  • I regrouped and scheduled a resort on beautiful Sanibel Island, a mere 2.5 hours south of us.
  • The resort I had scheduled was nice, right on the gulf with a restaurant, tiki bar by the pool etc.
  • Even though the Gulf was at our doorstep, the Great Brit had great difficulty negotiating walking in the sand. He also had great difficulty getting up and down into the low beach lounge chairs.
  • The Great Brit was content to lay in the lounger and watch the people in the water. Even though used 70 SPF sunscreen he burned very badly. Very surprising as I only turned more tan than I already was. I think it might have something to do with his medication.
  • We struggled from the beach to the pool where TGB immediately pluked himself on a barstool and ordered a G&T. The pool was a bit crowded, but very kind people, other guests, helped us to maneuver chairs and to find a spot with an umbrella. No matter what, it was a hassle. When TGB decided to try to go in the pool, He could not maneuver the stairs.
  • All of this was very torturous for him and for me to watch and try to help. We went back to our room where he went to sleep at 6:30 PM and slept through the night.
  • The next day as he was still looking like a lobster we decided to not go to the beach or the pool. Instead we would go to the Ford in Edison museum about a half an hour away. I asked him if he remembered being there before as we have at least two other times and he said no. So I thought what the hell let’s go again.
  • Once we got there he had to do a lot of bench sitting while I walked around inside and outside. After about 45 minutes he remembered being there before. He wanted to go back to the resort. So we did.
  • Once back at the resort, he took a long nap and I read on my Kindle, which was OK by me.
  • We went out to dinner. Everything was very crowded. We had to wait an hour for a table. Fortunately again there were benches everywhere to sit and wait, all of them in the shade. After our dinner, went back to the room. TGB went to sleep. I read and watched TV.
  • The next Morning we woke up very early as we had gone to bed very early. I asked The Great Brit if he wanted to go home. I told him that we would most likely lose $450 for that day and that night. He said he didn’t care. This is when I knew he was really hurting. He just wanted to be home and I don’t blame him.
  • Packed and drove up to the front desk where I explained that we had to go home because my husband was not well. I really was gob smacked when the manager looked at me and said, “I’m really not supposed to do this, but in your case I’m going to refund your $450 for the today and tonight.” I really was so grateful. We were back home by 11:30 that morning and that included a quick stop for breakfast on our way out to Sanibel.
  • So, it’s now Friday morning and I’ve had a lot of time to think and decompress. I’ve spent the last four days floating around in my own gorgeous pool. I have accepted that we really can’t travel anywhere anymore. In the course of our married life we have traveled all over the world and spent time in many countries. For this I am most grateful. My advice to you is to travel as much as much as you can whenever you can and wherever you can. I never envisioned this day could land on us like it has. But, that was very shortsighted of me. I will choose now to be content in my life and in my love of my husband. We will face things as they come. Hopefully we will face them with grace and dignity. Time will tell…

Last updated April 30, 2021


ConnieK April 30, 2021

When the time comes that it is more than you can handle, accept that he's better off in a care facility equipped to deal with the specialized needs he will develop. This does NOT mean you don't love him or you are abandoning him. It means his needs are outside your wheelhouse.

noko April 30, 2021

Oh, it sounds hard. I am sad for you because accepting this change can't be easy. My best friend is going through this with her husband. I see how challenging the unwanted transition is. I trust you to seize the moment and enjoy what you can.

Deleted user May 01, 2021

Your home is just beautiful so what a wonderful place to be. Like you said, floating in your own pool was just wonderful. You and your husband could watch travel videos together. Especially of places that you've been so you can say, "I've been there!"

Marg May 01, 2021

That’s a hard transition to make Dana - I really feel for you. At least you have lovely surroundings to stay at home in but that’s poor compensation I know!

Ferret Mom May 01, 2021

Really severe sunburns are horrible, I've had them a few times.

Kate May 04, 2021

You will face them as you face everything. Stoically. But you will hurt, and for that I am so deeply sorry. I love you.

And I love thinking of John as The Great Brit.

Jinn May 09, 2021

I am sorry it was so difficult . How I love Sanibel . I miss it . Glad the resort refunded your money . How lucky you are to have been able to travel as you did. He showed you the world .

Beret May 11, 2021

So sorry to hear the details of all of this. I'm sure this is a difficult path for you to travel. Hugs.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.