Last heat update? in A small but passable life.

  • Nov. 9, 2020, 11:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I forgot to mention that last Thursday, the 5th, an all time record high for November was set at 99 degrees breaking the old record of 93 degrees.

Many heat records were set this past year. There were 20 daily records set. The most days over 115, 110 and over 100 degrees. It was the hottest year on record for the third year in a row.

And it was the driest monsoon on record which replaced last year as the driest.

It has tried to rain for two nights in a row. Night before last left nothing in the rain gauge. Last night left a trace in the gauge.

I don’t know algebra. And my calculator confuses me. So here’s a word problem for you math nerds out there: If there are 50,550,062 Covid-19 cases with 1,258,321 deaths so far and you extrapolate it out to a total population of 7,800,000,000; how many dead folks?

I’m thinking; 7.8 billion divided by 50.5 million times 1.25 million. Would that be right, I mean, in a ballpark kind of way?

I’ve been watching youtube videos of unboxing, setup, and testing videos of the Starlink system beta release. I signed up long ago. I’m just waiting for my email. And now I’ve got the money to invest in the upgrade. It is $499 for the equipment (dish, router, cables, and power supply) and $99 a month for the service (without a contract!).

Some testers were getting 180Mbps down and 60Mbps up. I’m getting 25.4Mbps down and 1.11Mbps up on a good day, for $34.99 a month. So my service is adequate for my needs but the idea of not being tied to a cable now and possibly later on to have the price drop instead of rise (and the speeds increase) and the possibility of eventually taking the system mobile (RV, sailboat, cabin or tent in the woods?) intrigues me.

Let’s not forget that there are only 800 of the planned 42,000 Starlink satellites in orbit right now. I think the worries about bandwidth may be unfounded.

The coverage is down to Lat. 46 now. I’m at about Lat. 33. I’ve not long to wait.

Oh yeah, I cancelled Netflix. I was spending too much time trying to find something to watch. It reminded me too much of flipping channels on a TV set. No thanks. At least I got caught up on a few shows. And thanks to the government pandemic cash I didn’t pay for it!

And now it’s actually cooled off enough to get out for some hiking. I haven’t worn socks or shoes in nearly a year. That’ll be weird.


Neogy Titwhistle November 09, 2020

Edit: Reading my entry from four years ago it seems I predicted the Drumpf appointment of three Supremes. It's a good thing I don't brag about my predictive prowess!

Jinn November 10, 2020

It’s been weirdly warm here for the last week but now we are headed into bad weather again :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.