Found gold! in A small but passable life.

  • Oct. 28, 2020, 1:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday afternoon I dropped Mom off at her hairdressers and I wandered next door to the Goodwill store. I was told by Nikki that I had forty-five minutes to wait. I perused the aisles until my eye was caught by something. No way!, I thought. There was a Hydro Flask water bottle. It was the same size (24oz) that the black one I’d got from REI for almost $30 in rewards points is. This one was white, in perfect condition. And with my 25% senior Tuesday discount it was mine for $1.87! I’d say that next to my Italian made, sold by Barney’s of New York fedora for $7, and the leather fanny pack for $3, that was one of my best finds.

Mom has an appointment with her cardiologist this afternoon. I guess we’ll be talking about a possible surgery.

Another mailed check has disappeared. The October car payment mailed in September. The first one was the $200 we sent to the Navaho Nation back in March. Now there’s two checks floating around out there somewhere.

The bank wants $30 a pop for a stop payment. Fuck that.

At least with this latest snafu my sis-in-law was finally able to talk Mom into automatic payments. Nevermind that I’ve been trying to do that for the last two and a half years. Whatever.

There are only two bills left that need to be paid by mailed check, the Chevron card and Mom’s credit card. I don’t worry about them. At least not yet.

What is it, six days until the SHTF?

It may be an interesting show.


woman in the moon October 28, 2020

I don't know if I'm nervous about the election - anticipation, dread, combination of half a dozen emotions.
Also it's one of those time markers. Every four years.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ October 28, 2020

I'd say I'm just curious. I mean, I still remember the shit-show in 2000.

Emily October 28, 2020

Damn, that is a great deal!

Neogy Titwhistle Emily ⋅ October 28, 2020

Right? I still can't figure out how the value was missed. I know they mark up the price on certain brands of clothes. And I've heard that the more expensive items are set aside to sell online.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.