Selfish in My Therapy Book

  • Oct. 1, 2020, 8:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have just about reached a breaking point with my daughter. I live in fear of saying something to upset her in the idea implanted in my mind that after I do I will come home and find her lying on the floor, gone forever. It is a weight that is ready to break me. I am so angry with her right now. I went out for a pleasant evening with a friend and his wife. I had an amazing time. In the end I should not have gone. I got home to find out that my daughter did not attend her mandatory in person meeting with her Civics teacher and the class. I reminder her that day and made sure she knew the time. When I got talked to her about it I got “well there is another one tomorrow.” I just wanted to scream.


switchy October 01, 2020

I don't know you or your daughter, but I want to help you get this burden off your shoulders.
Your daughter's life is your daughter's responsibility. How about this: Tell your daughter that you love her and want her to do well in life and be herself and be as happy as she can be as who she really is. You want to be a supportive and loving person in her life, who helps her love & support herself. Than ask her what, if anything, you can do to support her in getting to her appointments.
That's it: Love and support, unrelentingly. For you and for her. No more trying to control her and no more blaming yourself.
That's my advice.
Full disclosure: I don't have children. And that could also be why I can see the situation clearly.
Good luck! <3 <3

lost soul switchy ⋅ October 05, 2020

Thanks for your thoughts, it is a difficult time for all involved and any insight is appreciated.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.