Around the Neighborhood in Pictures

  • Sept. 6, 2020, 5:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here are some shots from around my neighborhood.

.
Here is a Frank Lloyd Wright house.

.
A12

.
A13

.

This picture here is NOT from the Frank Lloyd Wright house. There is an apartment building with this.
.
A1

.

And a separate apartment building has some helpful notices posted outside by the sidewalk.
.
A2

.
I know some scam artists go door to door pretending to be from a utility company or cell phone company and will ask to see a copy of a recent bill you received. Real companies would never send someone to your door to do this.
.
A3

.

Here is a tree that over the years has grown in a way that it is embedded into this fence. This one just makes me sad, really.
.
A4

.
Speaking of trees… in that major storm we had last month we lost a LOT of trees. One day I saw some of these flyers around. No, I did not go participate in this. But I wonder what the people were like who did go.

.
A3

.

This is part of a mural that is right around the corner from me.
.
A16

.
There is a counseling/therapy place that has this in their front window. Huh? Phrenology? Did they put it there just to try to be cutesy? If I ran a therapy place I wouldn’t put this in the front window even as a joke.

.
A7
.
A8

.

In various places around the city you will find these, 200 or 300 total.
.
A10

.
This went up on the side of a building just a few days ago.

.
A1

.
I am walking distance from the fifth largest lake in the world.
.
A5
.

A4

.

Here I am. But no, this is not my sunflower.
.
A1
.

This is the spider that lives on my porch. I call him Horace.

A6


Last updated September 06, 2020


Deleted user September 06, 2020

Miss this city!

ConnieK September 06, 2020

Phrenology is bogus science. I agree with you. It's an odd choice. Love the way your mask complements the sunflower! I kind of like the tree taking over the fence. Nature overtaking man-made objects. The lumps are called "burls", and meant to be a bandaid for the tree. Woodworkers covet them.

Ferret Mom ConnieK ⋅ September 07, 2020

That's what I was thinking about the mask and sunflower.

I didn't know what burls were. I Googled what woodworkers can do with them and that is so interesting! I could picture the interior of a rustic cabin with end tables or whatnot made from burls.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ September 07, 2020

The wood in burls is very dense. Some wood carvers make gorgeous bowls from them.

sudare September 07, 2020

The lake view looks lovely!! Thank you!!

music & dogs & wine September 07, 2020

I don't want to live in the apartment with the creepy girl on the wall. I will be tagging you in a tree on FB.

J.E. September 07, 2020

I remember seeing a phrenology bust bong at a head shop once. Kinda wanted it.

Jinn September 11, 2020

You live in a great area. That strange woman engraving is odd though . Looks like a Lady Troll :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.