Perfect! in A small but passable life.

  • Aug. 24, 2020, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was the perfect birthday. I went in to make coffee in the morning and Mom said “Happy Birthday!” I drank coffee and dinked on the interwebs. Then I went to the pool for a quick dunk and a shower. Then a lunch of a cold meatloaf sandwich and cottage cheese and milk. And then an afternoon lie down with NPR on the radio. And then a frozen Red Baron pizza for supper. A call from Daughter in the evening wishing me a “Happy Birthday!” Finally finding a movie on netflix I hadn’t seen before “Being John Malkovich”. And that was it. A perfectly normal day. I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

And now that that birthday has passed I can change my societal title from “chronically unemployed” to “officially retired”. Ten years of zero income (except for six years of food stamps) to a small government stipend is the only real change.

I still haven’t figured out what to buy with this new wealth.

Near the top of the list:

Picture that set up in a high mountain meadow for the summer.


LilFlowerChild23 August 24, 2020

My birthday was yesterday, too! Happy birthday!

woman in the moon August 24, 2020

I've always wanted a teepee.
And happy birthday and happy retirement.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ August 24, 2020

You have the land for it!!! They are really not that expensive.

Emily August 24, 2020

Happy birthday and congrats on retirement!

Jinn August 25, 2020

Happy Belated Birthday !

Jinn August 25, 2020

Happy Retirement. Too !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.