Nearly two months? in A small but passable life.

  • Aug. 11, 2020, 11:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, it has been that long since I’ve posted an entry. I have finished reading two novels in that time though. The first one, “The Peripheral” by William Gibson was a good one. Here’s an interesting passage-

“No comets crashing, nothing you could really call a nuclear war. Just everything else, tangled in the changing climate: droughts, water shortages, crop failures, honeybees gone like they almost were now, collapse of other keystone species, every last alpha predator gone, anti-biotics doing even less than they already did, diseases that were never quite the one big pandemic but big enough to be historic events in themselves. And all of it around people: how people were, how many of them there were, how they’d changed things just by being there.”
-William Gibson.

Now, keep in mind, this was published in 2014. Prescient indeed! The book describes a “slow-rolling forty year long apocalypse” that wipes out eighty percent of the globes human population while at the same time technological innovations manages to save the other twenty percent.

And then I read the sequel- “Agency”, published this year. Another good one.

And that made seven books read for the year so far. Now I’m halfway through a non-fiction.

This past July was the hottest July on record here in the Valley of the Sun with a daily average temp (combining night and day) of 99.0 F. And only a half inch of rain (here at the house).

And in looking that up I found that July 2020 was the hottest month ever on Earth. Following the hottest June ever.

But sitting here in my little room in my chair with the A/C on it stays at 75 F.

I bought seven Hohner harmonicas in seven different keys (A, B, C, D, E, F, and G) in a nice little case for $32 from fender.com. A gal on youtube will teach me how to play the blues, I hope:

I guess I’m not the only one that has put writing on prosebox on the back burner. I still read but I’m able to read a week’s worth in about an hour. It used to take me day or more.

I keep saying to myself I need to write more. But it just doesn’t happen.

Be well. And stay safe.


woman in the moon August 11, 2020

Hope I didn't write too much in the last two months. I may have. I apologize.
Good having you here though whenever you show up.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ August 11, 2020

You could never write enough for me! I envy your ability to write. Is envy too strong a word?

Emily August 11, 2020

Don't you usually read more books than this? Glad I'm not living in that heat!

Neogy Titwhistle Emily ⋅ August 11, 2020

Yeah, I've slowed down a lot. Only finished seven books so far this year. I have bookmarks in several non-fiction/instructional books. I read those while trying to find the next book on my "to read" list. Heat? Only 109 today!

Jinn August 14, 2020

My Dad lives in Tucson. He is miserable with the heat . I think it might be hotter where you are. He likes to be outside :-(
I have not read as much as usual this year . I am on line too much but I still read every day . It’s another form of escape. I have a lot of housework and garden work I should be doing . :-) but I would rather read.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.