There were criteria. in A small but passable life.

  • May 24, 2020, 4:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The money had appeared in my bank account for no other reason than by accident of birth I was born where I’d been born. You can’t get any more random than that.

Since my backpacking “Ultimate Gear List” has been completed and upgraded and lightened I really had nothing else on my “Wish List”.

But, like a true American Capitalist I wanted to buy something with that cash. I wrote down four criteria for the purchase: 1. It had to be something I could use now, not have to wait until some future day. 2. It had to be something I’ve always wanted but never had. 3. It had to be something to add to the skill-set, no matter how esoteric. And finally, 4. It had to be frivolous in everyone’s opinion except mine.

I bought an electric guitar. A Squier Stratocaster Pack for $241.11, includes tax and free shipping. Includes guitar and strap, amp and cord, gig bag, 3 months of lessons and a two year warranty with a free help line. I bought it from Sweetwater.

(I tried to post a link but it didn’t work.)

I’m sure It will be a good investment. I might even enjoy it.

I’ve taken Mom out to Carol to get her nails done and to Nikki to get her hair done. She’s not coughing yet. Nikki gave me a haircut too. I’m not coughing yet either.

Death toll from Captain Trips is still rising in this state.

I’ve put my passport application on hold. I don’t believe anyone is going anywhere for quite some time. Or at least without a two week quarantine upon arrival anywhere.


Last updated May 24, 2020


Emily May 24, 2020

Sorry, I don't think it's frivolous, I love the guitar idea :p

woman in the moon May 25, 2020

Best purchase I've heard of. I put mine in the bank and have spent half of it on groceries... so far.
Nice of you to treat your mom.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.