Last piece of gear? in A small but passable life.

  • April 25, 2020, 11:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I ordered the Big Agnes Tiger Wall UL2 tent on the 18th of April from REI. The tent, the footprint, and sales tax totaled $379. Shipping was free. Both the tent and the footprint were 25% off. The tent alone normally retails for $399 and the footprint for $79. So yeah, a good deal. Good thing I shopped for years and waited to pull the trigger on buying for months. The package arrived on the 21st of April.

I’ll be passing on my Eureka solo tent to Daughter. She already has the Eureka Timberline 2 two-person tent I gave her years ago. Both those tents are a quarter century old and still perfectly fine.

Total weight of the new tent, including the footprint and all the stuff sacks (4) I probably won’t use while backpacking the tent: 2.96 lbs! I’m pretty happy with that number.

Needless to say, I haven’t been able to walk out into the desert to practice setting the new tent up yet. Our first 90 degree day was Wednesday the 22nd. And our first 100 degree day is forecast for today, with a string of 100+ degree days to follow. Unless I want to drive up into the mountains it’ll be six months or more before I can go out here.

Thirty days. Thirty days from now I’ll start applying for my SS retirement. I have no clue how much I’ll get or even if I get any.

I guess the new American Dream of “To Not Die Homeless” is even more pertinent now.

26,000,000 unemployed now. There’ll be a few million more added in the weeks to come.

The virus is in 83 long-term care facilities in Maricopa County right now.

I told Mom she’d better not bitch about being stuck at home!

Stay safe folks!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.