Finished and Done in My Thoughts

  • March 26, 2014, 4:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My hell day is over and report cards are finished and printed. I hate report card time, which my friends will testify to. It is that time of the year when I have to deal with the mistakes of all the other teachers and take time out of my day to fix the shit they cannot manage to get right. It is at this time that I eat the most and the kids walk into the room and ask me how things are going before I even start class. Kids are smart... I managed to control my anger down to one person. What the hell type of teacher does not understand, this far into the year, what needs to be done in order for their gradebook to be finished for a nine weeks?

On the plus side I love 5th Grade, I had 8 of them in my room at lunch working on a project that they don't even need to have finished for a week. They have really grasped this new and complex concept and are running with it. I was a little worried that students that young would have trouble making a connection between machines and the impact those things have on our lives. It took a while for them to understand I did not care what the item did but rather how it changed what we do. Once they got it they really jumped and and ran with it. I was really impressed that they took time out of their own day to make sure their work was perfect. They are a really great group of young people.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.