Baked Spaghetti Squash AuGratin in And So It Goes

  • April 19, 2020, 3:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s another Pandemic lockdown Sunday. I’m doing laundry, reading, and generally just lounging around. I did get out of my Batman nightshirt and even brushed my hair. The scale was unkind to me this morning. It cruelly informed me that I have gained two pounds. So, just to show that digital scale how much I don’t care what it says, I moved this rich, gorgeously delicious recipe over from my old blog. I mean, it’s a vegetable dish, how fattening can it be? Isn’t it beautiful?

Spaghetti Squash AuGratin

Prep: 45 minutes

Cook: 30 minutes

Serves: 3-4 as a side, 1-2 as main

1 medium spaghetti squash

1 medium onion, diced

2 tbsp butter

3/4 cup plain greek yogurt (or sour cream: let your conscience be your guide)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 + 1/3 cup sharp white cheddar cheese

1/2 tsp salt (+/- to taste)

1/2 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 375.

Cut squash lengthwise, scoop out seeds, drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Bake for 45 minutes.

While squash is baking, caramelize onions.

Heat a heavy skillet and add butter and onions to the pan. Cook on medium, stirring frequently until onions are brown and caramelized. Add garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes. Stir in spices.

Once squash is cooked, cool and using two forks, scrape out the strands of squash.

Stir the greek yogurt into the onions and then add the squash and 1 cup of the cheese. Stir until combined.

Top with the remaining 1/3 cup cheese and pour into a baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes. If the top isn’t browned, broil for a few minutes until the cheese is brown and bubbly.


Last updated April 19, 2020


Sugar Magnolia April 19, 2020

I love, love, love spaghetti squash. This sounds wonderful.

IpsoFacto Sugar Magnolia ⋅ April 19, 2020

let me know if you make it

Beret April 19, 2020

That looks and sounds like a winner! Might have to try that soon. Thanks for sharing.

ConnieK April 19, 2020

Looks delicious!

Marg April 20, 2020

I’m no cook but even I’m tempted by that one!

noko April 20, 2020

Very comforting.

Jinn April 21, 2020

I have never had spaghetti squash but this looks great !

ConnieK April 21, 2020

I made the French Custard Strawberry cake. I added blueberries, as well. If it tastes half as good as it smells, it's a winner. I think next time, I'll use less sugar on the top.

IpsoFacto ConnieK ⋅ April 22, 2020

So happy you tried it. It won’t disappoint with peaches. I slice mine and sprinkle with cinnamon. Ohhhh and the sugar is my fav part, but I am a sweetaholic.

ConnieK IpsoFacto ⋅ April 22, 2020

It was delicious! My oven runs a bit hot, so I think next time, I'll just bake it for 25 minutes. The sugar topping makes a lovely crunch, but I'm going to cut it back to maybe an eighth cup rather than a quarter. Peaches sound fabulous, too!

queenofegypt April 22, 2020

Yum! I'm going to need to make this.

Jinn May 05, 2020

I have never had spaghetti squash but it sounds good .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.