A waiting game? in A small but passable life.

  • March 24, 2020, 2:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished reading the two non-fiction library books I had checked out. First was “Private Government: How Employers Rule Our Lives (and Why We Don’t Talk about It) by Elizabeth Anderson. And then “Capitalism’s Crises Deepens” by Richard Wolff.

I went by the library to drop the second one in the return box today. And then I stopped by the grocery store. It was my third trip out since the shitstorm started. I think I see the pattern. Bread, milk and butter were stocked. Dry goods were still wiped out. (Except for cans of corn and sliced peaches.) Odd. No liquid soap of any kind but I did find a package of 15 Tide Pods. No ground beef. There was a lot of bacon. Odd. Vegetable section looked normal. (Too bad I don’t eat fresh vegetables.) I bought more coffee beans. And yogurt and apple turnovers for Mom.

Last time out I had found bread and milk at a walmart. So, we’re good for a week or so.

The question now has become “Why wasn’t our society/government ready for this?” It is a fundamental flaw of capitalism. Preparation isn’t profitable. The aftermath of natural disasters and wars and human tragedy is VERY profitable.

Everybody has an opinion about what is going to happen. The truth is no one has a fucking clue.

Know where your water comes from. Know that when the electricity goes out it won’t be coming back on anytime soon.

Why “social distancing” instead of physical distancing? Are we really that ignorant semantically?

Stay safe folks!


woman in the moon March 24, 2020

What do you mean by the difference between social and physical distancing? Terminology for the same thing? Six feet apart? Under? Yes, under as well. Will there be enough gas to cremate us all?
You are a brave man to be reading those books. The money is in building not in operating. A little like fixing rather than preparing for disaster.
I wonder what would make me happy. I guess it's too late for a lot of things.

Except I really don't think it's as bad as it seems. We will survive and maybe be the better for having learned to wash our hands and stay home.

Jinn April 18, 2020

It’s true no one has a clue and few people have much idea how to cope with this. I know I don’t .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.