Day 1 post op in Pudendal Decompression Surgery

Revised: 03/22/2020 11:51 p.m.

  • March 13, 2020, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was a really rough day. I got to talk to Dr. Hibner. I was an extreme basket case. I begged him not to abandon me. LOL. He warned that the hospital might kick my mom out because of COVID-19. She was already camped out on the couch. I wouldn’t have let her leave anyway. I also wondered if my dad would be able to come up and visit the following morning before he went to the airport because of strict visitor restrictions. They want to limit the number of people in the hospital.

After I spoke with Dr. Hibner, two physical therapists that are knowledgeable of my condition, who I believe were part of his PT team came down to help me try and walk. I got to the door but advised them that I was too weak to walk down the hall. One of the ladies was an older lady. I asked her to grab my phone and take the below photo. She said she didn’t know how to take cell phone photos. The other girl that was with her taught her how to and was laughing that it was her first cell phone photo.

imgbox

This is my internal pain pump. It delivers numbing agent to the area he worked on 5 days post op. There was a dissolvable sheath inside of me connected to a wire externally. This was the water balloon that I had to carry around in a bag for 5 days.

imgbox


Shortly after this video was taken, I fainted into the nurses arms after going to the bathroom. Before that, they almost couldn’t remove the catheter out of me. I really just think there is too many organs in my pelvis and I cant hold all of them. I then developed urinary retention which I was able to surpass on my own without them having to cath me again. That first and second night was absolutely brutal. I have never been on that much medication. I wasn’t eating properly. I kept getting told that was normal but then people kept trying to force me to stand up and walk. I know I needed to do so, but I had no energy. Nurses were reading my post op reports and they were absolutely blown away. Some of them know what PNE is because they have patients coming all over the world to see Dr. Hibner. And others had no idea. Good thing this hospital’s policy was that they cant release you until you have gone to the bathroom on your own. After my gallbladder surgery, this wasnt the case and I had to return to the ER. I was able to talk to JL and LB on the phone which meant everything to me.


Last updated March 24, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.