The future in EWSentinel's Easy Diary

  • Sept. 16, 2013, 3:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wanted let you know that I 'started' the creation of my own diary site. It will be at http://easydiary.ewsentinel.com so keep your eyes peeled for that. I can't comment on an approximated publishing date yet, as I just started writing it over the weekend, but I'll update you all when I'm ready to publish.

"EWSentinel's Easy Diary" will be similar to OD and have an OD-like feel to it, but different enough to not be considered a copy, for legal reasons.

Some info:

  • It will be made with newer programming technologies than OD.
    • OD is was written in Classic ASP, ED will be written in ASP.NET, which is Microsoft's current programming platform.

  • The WYSIWYG editor is the modern editor from Telerik.com (those are the controls that I'm current using for business customers), and works in all modern and legacy browsers.
  • Bookmarks will not be used. Instead "Favorites" will perform a dual function for keeping track of diarists that you like to read and who can read you.
  • The first publishing will be a "beta" release. What that means is that it will be a dynamic release and still in development, but it will be available to users to help flesh out bugs and issues.
  • The initial beta release will be a scaled down version of what ED will eventually become.
  • The initial beta release will be ad driven.
    • Possible future paid account options may be made available. I'm still on the fence on that one.


Lyn September 16, 2013

Are you prepared to actually have full control? You know, not just the headaches and fire putting out stuff. :)

EWSentinel Lyn ⋅ September 16, 2013

That's the main reason that I'm doing it. I want full control. I want to do updates, something that the DM has refused to allow me to do over the years. I've asked for it no less than a dozen times. lol

shneaker September 16, 2013

Is there really a need for more diary sites?

EWSentinel shneaker ⋅ September 16, 2013

A need? I don't know. However, there's a "want" on my end. lol Even if it's never used by anyone, I already own ewsentinel.com, so adding a subdomain won't cost me anything. ;)

simple mind September 16, 2013

I'm always open to collaboration if you have any interest in Python/Django, here on the Box. I also understand the desire to want to do your own thing. Do you use ASP.NET MVC? I was using MVC3 extensively in the previous job; it's evolving into an excellent framework as far as Microsoft offerings go.

EWSentinel simple mind ⋅ September 16, 2013

I'm not going to use MVC, as I've never used it, only read about it. lol I'm sticking with my strengths and things I'm used to working with.

As for a collab, I might be interested in some help down the line, but that's step 43. I'm on step one (DB design). ;)

hoops September 16, 2013

I wish you luck, but I've already made my post-OD choice to be here at Prosebox. I've always appreciated your hard work on OD through the years though, it seemed like you cared a lot more about that place than the DM did. It's too bad you can't work with SimpleMind here--I think the two of you, together, could really do something amazing. Best wishes though.

Lepetit pumpkinesque September 16, 2013

So are you done over at OD?

EWSentinel Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ September 16, 2013

I'm never done at OD. I'll always be there, because I love OD. And I'll keep my admin role there as long at the DM lets me. :)

Lepetit pumpkinesque EWSentinel ⋅ September 16, 2013

Oh okay :) I am still cross posting in both places, so if you open a site, it wouldn't be a big deal to cross at all three. I think the hard thing about these sites is that there is very little 'new blood' you know? No one wants to be like 'heeeey come to my PRIVATE DIARY SITE' with me, so there is no word of mouth going on to push it forward, it gets to a point where everyone who everyone is going to let know about it, knows, and then it starts dying down... just my completely UNASKED for take on all of these sites. By the way, I appreciate everything you do at OD. Truly.

EWSentinel Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ September 16, 2013

Thank you for that last part. It's really appreciated.

As for the rest, I'm anticipating a MUCH smaller community (if any lol), which I like. Like people say on OD about their own diaries, "Though I love the community, I'm doing this mostly for me." That's how I feel about ED. I just want a diary site where I'm the one in control, and can do development work on.

The REAL DiaryMaster September 18, 2013

You broke my heart.

Deleted user December 15, 2013

Hi, I had emailed you twice within the past two or so weeks and I dropped you a line on your diary on Opendiary. Can you please tell me what's going on with Opendiary? Why can't people get onto it anymore?! It's one of my favorite sites. I see that there are a lot of diaries that have not been utilized in a long time that most likely should be deleted--I think that could be why OD slowed down significantly. I don't know whether or not you're actually the one who's responsible for keeping up with it but wouldn't it be wise and make sense to get rid of the diaries that are no longer being used? Just like all other websites, it needs proper maintenance instead of downright negligence. I don't mean to sound blunt when I say that, I'm being honest with you. Something needs to be done about it, the quicker the better!

LivingWaterCreek January 19, 2014

Eric, any updates?

EWSentinel LivingWaterCreek ⋅ January 27, 2014

I'm "hoping" for a beta release at the end of February. It's a tentative schedule, though.

Everything Good Rebecca March 25, 2014

I heard through the grapevine that you might be opening something and then sure enough, I found you here on PB, but only after I'd finally settled in here and started to become comfortable and reasonably proficient. I'm thinking I do want to be involved in whatever you do with a diary site in the future because I love that your heart was with OD all alone, like my own was (only of course, from a different perspective). Way to go, and I do wish you and SimpleMind could collaborate but also appreciate each doing his own thing independently. As a previous noter said, this would only make for better diary possibilities, not worse. I do not like the idea of a one-pony circus that gets too big for its britches and loses focus.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.